Homemade Strawberry & Raspberry jam

With spring slowly approaching, I thought it would be a fun undertaking to try my hand at making jam. I’ve never been one for jam (outside of on some toast), but something inside me thought it might be fun and I’m always looking for new recipes to try out.

However with many of the recipes I found online, most called for an unreasonable amount of sugar ( I know it helps the jam settle, but in this day and age it’s nice to try something with less sugar). So I found a recipe that didn’t call for pectin and seemed to have the least amount of sugar, and of course I did what I do most of the time and tinkered with the recipe. 

The original recipe called for 6 cups of sugar for 3 lbs of hulled strawberries. What I did was used 3 cups of sugar, and added some gelatin to aide with the settling. I also added a couple small packs of raspberries (about 400 g) 

Ingredients:

  1. 3lbs of fresh hulled strawberries 
  2. 400g of fresh raspberries (optional)
  3. 3 cups of sugar (use whichever you like most, raw – white – brown
  4. 1/3 cup of lemon juice
  5. 1 package or 1 tbsp gelatin (optional, if not using please let jam mix cook longer)

The method to the madness:

Hull out straberries & raspberries place in colander and rinse well with cold water.

Dump fruit into large saucepan and place on medium. While the fruit heats, add part or the sugar and part of the lemon juice. 

Mash up the jam mixture with a potato masher to your desired consistency  (if you like more chunks don’t mash it too much). Add remaining sugar and lemon juice and bring to slight boil.

This is where the recipe comes down to how you wanna prepare your jam. If you want to use a lot less sugar or no gelatin the mixture will need to simmer for about an hour. If using the full amount of sugar and gelatin, simmer mixture for a solid 30 minutes.

A good trick to knowing when the jam is ready, place a small dish in the fridge or freezer for about 15 minutes and place a spoonful of jam on the plate and let it slide down. If the jam slowly falls when the plate is sideways, it should be ready.

Bottling the jam you will need some mason jars (submerge the jars and lids in boiling water for 10 minutes prior to bottling to ensure they are properly clean). I got one large (1l) mason jar and 2 500ml jars from this recipe, it’s what I had on hand. 

After bottled wipe down jars, tighten the lids well and place them in boiling water for 10 minutes, this should help seal them properly – allowing for storage. I wasn’t worried about this as I placed all my jars in the fridge ( after a week one small jar was already gone ). 

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

